Winners of O. Henry Prize Stories 2017 Announced

The winners of O. Henry Prize Stories 2017 have been announced. The winning list comprises twenty stories from both emerging and established writer. Selections had been drawn from the pool of short stories published in literary magazines in 2016.
For the O. Henry Prize Stories for 2017, there were 3 judges, David Bradley, Elizabeth McCracken, and Brad Watson. The compiled short stories were edited by Laura Furman. Anchor will publish the stories in an eponymous anthology in September.
Who knows, your favourite writer might have made the winning list?
These are the 20 winning stories
Michelle Huneven’s Too Good To Be True, published by Harper’s
Genevieve Plunkett’s Something for a Young Woman published by New England Review
Alan Rossi’s The Buddhist, published by Granta
Tahmima Anam’s Garments, published by Freeman’s
Paola Peroni’s Protection published by The Common
Shruti Swamy’s Night Garden published by Prairie Schooner
Kevin Barry’s Cruelty published by Five Points
Mary La Chapelle’s Floating Garden published by Salamander
Joseph O’Neill’s The Trusted Traveler published by Harper’s
Keith Eisner’s Blue Dot published by Salamander
Wil Weitzel’s Lion published by Prairie Schooner
Heather Monley’s Paddle to Canada published by Zyzzyva
Jai Chakrabarti’s A Small Sacrifice for an Enormous Happiness published by A Public Space
Kate Cayley’s The Bride and the Street Party published by Prism
Amit Majmudar’s Secret Lives of the Detainees published by Kenyon Review
Lesley Nneka Arimah’s Glory published by Harper’s
Martha Cooley’s Mercedes Benz published by A Public Space
Manuel Muñoz’s The Reason Is Because published by American Short Fiction
Gerard Woodward’s The Family Whistle published by Zoetrope
Fiona McFarlane’s Buttony published by The New Yorker


Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


© 2023 LiteraVault. All posts remain copyright to their authors

Log in with your credentials


Forgot your details?

Create Account